New Jimi Hendrix Live With Machine Gun: The Fillmore East First Show 12/31/69

Hendrix Machine GunJimi Hendrix fans are among the luckiest fans in the world. It seems that there is enough material in vaults that can be used for official releases. It certainly seems to provide for a steady stream of pleasant gifts. I wish all bands could provide such gems.

On September 30, Legacy Records will release Machine Gun: The Fillmore East First Show 12/31/69 featuring the debut appearance of Hendrix’s Band Of Gypsys. At that time, who knew that Hendrix would be the legendary force he is even to this day, some 45 plus years later! This latest release from Experience Hendrix will be a rich assembly mixed from the original 1″ 8-track tapes from the show. There are eleven performance tracks on this set that showcase the complete concert (see track list below). As it is, this set is the first of four Fillmore East shows, two on 12/31/69, and two on New year’s Day, 1970. (The title of the set is a little confusing as it hints at being the first show of the Fillmore East. It’s actually the first Hendrix show at the Fillmore East NYC location. Someone screwed that one up!)

Machine Gun will be issued on CD, DD (in standard and HD form), 180g 2LP gatefold, and an SACD version of the album.

Also on this same date, Legacy will re-release People, Hell and Angels, a collection of previously unreleased studio recordings originally issued in 2013.

Hendrix People Hell And Angels

Machine Gun: The Fillmore East First Show 12/31/69 – Jimi Hendrix/Band of Gypsys

01 – Power of Soul
02 – Lover Man
03 – Hear My Train a Comin’
04 – Changes
05 – Izabella
06 – Machine Gun
07 – Stop
08 – Ezy Ryder
09 – Bleeding Heart
10 – Earth Blues
11 – Burning Desire