TAPSheet: Release Notes – 04/10/2014 (US Report)

A few brief notes before we dig into what little there is to notate as upcoming releases:

Johnny Winter has a new album in the works to be named Step Back. Joe Perry of Aerosmith fame will be in some of the songs.  No word on actual release date as of yet.

Jackson Browne will release Late For The Sky on a 180g LP issue in addition to the expected CD remaster expected earlier (thanks, Simon). No release date for the LP as of yet.

Classic German ambient band, Tangerine Dream, will release a 2014 “live” studio version of the Sorcerer soundtrack with a few songs found on the original soundtrack not there, but augmented with additional songs that were not used in the original album.  All in all, this makes the entire set a near “must have” (a MUST HAVE for serious fans).  With the upcoming remaster of the film on Blu-ray, this is a good time to explore further.


The Sorcerer 2014 album will be two CDs.  The first album will contain ten tracks (the original had twelve), which means that “Main Title”, and “Rain Forest” will be excluded. the second disc will contain the previously mentioned unreleased material in new recording form. The original music had been lost, with only notes surviving.  It is these notes that Froese uses to recreate them in a 2014 setting.  Nevertheless, Sorcerer 2014 should be extraordinary. I’m really looking forward to it myself.

Tracklist: CD1 01. Search 02. The Call 03. Creation 04. Vengeance 05. The Journey 06. Grind 07. Abyss 08. Mountain Road 09. Impression Of Sorcerer 10. Sorcerer Theme CD2 01. Approaching The Danger 02. Servant Of Misery 03. Rain And Thunder 04. In The Mist Of The Night 05. Nebulous Jungle Path 06. Distance And Hope 07. Jungle On Fire 08. Crash At Dawn 09. Fast Ride To Disaster

Sorcerer 2014 is shipping on April 15.

Sony Music/Legacy will reissue the major label debut album from The The on July 1 in an LP only package. Soul Mining, originally released in 1983, will be remastered, repackaged, and expanded with a series of 12″ versions of songs off the album plus two 12″ mixes of “Perfect”. In addition, there will be the inclusion of “Fruit Of The Heart”, a cassette tape song from the period.

TheThe Soul

The LPs will be stored in a 12″ Box, with the vinyl of 180g-weight quality.

LP 1 – SOUL MINING: 1. I’ve Been Waitin’ For Tomorrow (All Of My Life) 2. This Is The Day 3. The Sinking Feeling 4. Uncertain Smile 5. The Twilight Hour 6. Soul Mining 7. Giant LP2 – SOUL MINING RECOLLECTED 1. Uncertain Smile (New York 12” version) 2. Perfect (New York 12” version) 3. This Is The Day (12” version) 4. Fruit Of The Heart 5. Perfect (London 12” version) 6. I’ve Been Waitin’ For Tomorrow (All My Life) (12” mix)

Island Def Jam will release new The Roots music with the issue of And Then You Shoot Your Cousin, planned for May 19, CD, LP.

Show Dog Universal will release 5.0 from Toby Keith on June 10.

Shout! Factory have Live In Nashville featuring Steve Earle, on June 24.

Fantasy Records will re-release Green River from Creedence Clearwater Revival on vinyl LP on August 5.


Capitol Records will release several versions of The Extraordinary featuring Nat King Cole. The new release will be issued in a standard single CD, as well as a 2CD Deluxe Edition. Both sets are expected on May 27.

Concord Records have an as yet untitled album coming from James Taylor in August, planned for CD, DD, and LP.

Nettwerk Records wills release Whispers from Passenger on both CD and LP. The Deluxe version will add in bonus acoustic tracks of the songs. Whispers is slated for June 10.

Passenger Whispers

Roadrunner Records will release the new Opeth album, Pale Communion, on June 17 (thanks, RJD).

The 10CD retrospective Box featuring Nils Lofgren called Face the Music is slated for release on May 27. YES!


And finally, MRI Records will release a new album from John Mayall called A Special Life.  This album is expected on May 13.

MayallAspecial Life