TAPSheet: Release Notes – 05/29/2013 (US Report)

With vinyl continuing its upward movement, expect to see more and more labels reaching into their vaults to reproduce some of the classics  in remastered, and repackaged form along with the addition of 180g, sometimes heavier, weight vinyl.  The 1972 classic album from Hoi’ Polloi is currently on the calendar for reissue on 180g vinyl LP, remastered form the original 1/4″ master tapes.  In addition to the remastering, you can expect a new set of liner notes all the way down to the reproduction of the LP’s original xeroxed insert.  But there is really more, a few bonus tracks will be included (original stereo mix of “Satisfaction Guaranteed”, for one, and live recordings for another, all which will be added via digital download..  If you were to find an original hand-distributed copy of this LP, you could expect to pay upwards of $1000 for one with no real promise of condition.

1. Who’s Gonna Help Me?
2. Old Bootstrap
3. Seven Deviations
4. Last Laugh
5. Hoi’ Polloi Peeks Out
6. Instead Boogie
7. Satisfaction Guaranteed
8. It’s a Nice Day
9. Devil Song
10. Sid Stoneman Gets Scale
11. 15 Miles to Mexico
12. Stories
13. I Used to Think


The recently released (04/29/13) and very electric Tom Keifer (Cinderella) solo album, The Way Life Goes, is slated for release on vinyl LP on August 6 via Merovee Records.  Worth listening to.


Domino Recordings have new Hot Chip music coming in an eight track CD EP set on July 23.  The EP, called Dark & Stormy, will contain two versions of “Flutes” (LP cut, and Sasha remix), a new upcoming UK single (“Dark & Stormy”), “Jelly Babies”, “Doctor”, and three other remixes besides “Flutes” (“How Do You Do”, “Night and Day”, “Look At Where We Are”).

Merge Records will have the last of The Mountain Goats‘ “All-home recordings” available on July 23 in what will be called All Hail West Texas.  These previously released 14 tracks will include seven bonus tracks including an alternate take of “Jenny”, a song from the original Emperor Jones issued CD.  All Hail West Texas is planned for CD and vinyl LP.


Eagle Rock Entertainment is planning the BD and DVD release of Rock For The Rising Sun featuring Aerosmith, with a scheduled release date of July 23.


Frontiers Records will have the new Arc Angel album, Harlequins Of Light, on the shelves for August 27.

Verve Records will release Best of the BBC Vaults featuring Ella Fitzgerald on July 9.

Prospect Park Records will release the new Five Finger Death Punch album on July 30 in multiple forms that include standard CD (Edited/PA), a 2CD Deluxe Edition (Edited/PA), and 1LP.  The new album is called (drawing breath in) The Wrong Side of Heaven And The Righteous Side Of Hell, Volume One.

On July 9, Geffen Records will reissue two Nirvana albums on vinyl LP.  Those albums include Incesticide, and Unplugged In New York.

Blue Note Records have Lickety Split coming from Robert Randolph And The Family Band, with a scheduled date of July 16.  Blue Note also has Live This from bassist, Derrick Hodge, expected on August 6.

Razor & Tie Records have an Expanded Edition of Steppin’ Out (1984) from The Chi-Lites scheduled for July 16.  The label also has an Expanded Edition of Castles In the Sky (1975) by the underrated The Futures, Girls Talk (1984) from The Girls, Nona Hendryx from Nona Hendryx, and A Woman Needs Love by Ray Parker, Jr and Raydio, all on same date.